{ is hysterectomy a dirty word? }

December 6, 2010 § 4 Comments

I was first introduced to this idea when me & my doctor decided this was the route to go. I got my paperwork and went to the front window, the receptionist read the sheet and then looked around like she was planning a covert mission. She leaned in real close to me (as close as you can get with a huge sliding glass window in front of you) and then whispered “So you need to schedule your (even quieter) hysterectomy” Now I have been going to the gynecologist for a long time and they have never whispered anything in fact they have be quite vocal about things they probably should have whispered “oh Miss you forgot your yeast infection creme”,  “how heavy is your flow?”, “It’s been that long since you’ve had sex!” or my personal favorite “I’ll show you whats wrong with you just let me get the vagina model”  these statements no problem. So why at a place where the word vagina can be heard every minute why would someone be shy about saying hysterectomy? This was not the only place I found this out. I was talking to someone about my upcoming surgery and they asked “oh what are you having done” ” a hysterectomy” you would think I yelled BOMB on a plane or FIRE in a crowded movie theater. Some people literally look at you like,  oh my god I can’t believe you said that, I mean there are children around!. So in a world where you can’t turn on the TV without seeing ads for erectile dysfunction or two people engaged in some sort of sex why are we suddenly so bashful when it comes to this word & procedure? At least now I know I can freely swear in public!

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

§ 4 Responses to { is hysterectomy a dirty word? }

  • Lin says:

    I dont see anything wrong with saying this word outloud, shout it if you want. I think so little suprises people now a days that saying vagina, breast, or hysterectomy shouldnt be a big deal. I’m thinking maybe the woman didnt want to say it too loud because she didnt want to have everyone in the room know ‘your business’…that or she’s just a dork, haha. Also, I dont see what the big deal is about saying it around kids, most dont even know how to spell it.

  • littletoad1 says:

    I agree. I personally have no problem with it and hope women will not be embarrassed by it as well:) Thanks for the great comment!

  • tori says:

    First of all, big fat kudos to you for being able to see the funny or absurd in things often labeled “Do NOT Discuss”. You are one brave and funny lady! If you are in a place where “vagina” and “yeast infection” are thrown around freely, you are ABSOLUTELY not being risque in saying “hysterectomy”.

  • littletoad1 says:

    Thank you for your kind words and support!

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading { is hysterectomy a dirty word? } at does this hysterectomy make me look fat?.

meta

